Built on an enormous and peculiar rock is connected to the opposite land with a bridge, which is the only entrance to it –“mone emvassies” (in Greek).

The name “Monemvassia” is first traced on a post byzantine historical document, the Moreas Chronicle, in which is denoted as the “unique entrance”. The Byzantine emperor Mavrikios founded it in 582 AC, while the medieval Byzantine emperor Andronikos B’ granted lands and many privileges. For a long time Monemvassia flourished and became an important commercial center and port point for the sea commerce between Asia and Europe. It became famous in european king’s courts for its “Malvasia” wine. It was also the port of Mystras, the capital of the Byzantine despotat of Peloponnesus.

Monevmassia was first developed on a plateau, at the summit of the rock, named the Upper Town or Goulas, soon though extended to the area underneath, the Lower Town, which is today inhabited and know as the Castel Town. Due to its wealth and strategic location many conquerors tried to siege it. In 1249 was occupied by the Franks to be soon returned to the Byzantine Empire. But on the 15th century it was conquered by the Venetians and after a short occupation by the Byzantines and the Pope it fell to the Turks on the 16th century. The Venetians and the Turks were to change once again as consequent conquerors of Monemvassia till 1821, the year when, after a dreadfull battle, was turned to the Greek State.

The long lasting history of Monemvassia and the various cultures that interweaved there have left their imprints on the numerous and important monuments that adorn the town today. The most important period that sealed its present image is the Second Venetian siege, in the 17th century, when a vast program of public works was undertaken by the Venetian Empire, with emphasis on city walls, churches, cisterns, manor houses, palaces etc. So the Byzantine and Venetian periods left us with the miniature, tightly built and vaulted houses, with their beautiful and colorful facades, that were revised to include gardens whenever the Turks seized the town.

MONUMENTS TO VISIT

A. CHURCHES

1. The parish Church of Elkomenos Chrystos
2. The Church of Panagia Chryssafitissa –on the named square with a large courtyard and amphi theatrical steps where cultural events and marriages often take place.
3. The Churh of Myrtidiotissa-recently restored by the Ministry of Culture- dominates above the main square and the market street.
4. The Mosque - now a museum featuring the Archaeological Collection of Monemvassia.
5. The Church of St. Nicolas, now a cultural center, where a lot of events are taking place.
6. The Church of St. Ann the Catholic –recently restored by the Ministry of Culture
7. The Church of
8. The Chapel of St. Andrew privately owned by Vassilis Dorovinis and restored due to a grant by the Leventis Foundation–visited by arrangement.

B. THE CITY WALLS-walking on its ramparts that overlook the sea.

C. THE UPPER TOWN –archaeological site of Goulas with the renowned monument of St Sophia, with the snake like, pebble path climbing to there.

monemvassia monuments 1 web  monemvassia monuments 2 web  monemvassia monuments 3 web

Click on the images above to view in high resolution


 

Photos from the majestic Monemvassia

monemvassia
monemvassia
monemvassia
monemvassia
monemvassia
monemvassia
monemvassia
monemvassia
monemvassia
monemvassia
monemvassia
monemvassia
monemvassia
monemvassia
monemvassia
monemvassia
monemvassia
monemvassia
monemvassia
monemvassia
monemvassia
monemvassia
monemvassia
monemvassia

The majority of the photos of this website and the photos of our houses are from our personal archive. The pictures above as well as some throughout our pages that show the municipality of Monemvassia are provided by monemvasia.gr

Discover Monemvassia & Peloponese

Where to swim Eating - Shops Walking tours & Sightseeing

Company info

  • Tel 1: 0030 2106000259
  • Fax: 0030 2106000459
  • Mob 1: 00306973314353
  • Mob 2: 00306976768089
  • info@monemvassia-castlehouses.com
  • dorov@otenet.gr

 

Visit also:

logo cretan houses gold