St. Andrew Chapel

The Byzantine-Veneto chapel of St. Andrew is part of the property complex of Vassilis Dorovinis which was bought from the Monemvassian family of Gianoukou. The family owed title from 1860, in which the chapel was mentioned.

In the Down Town Monemvassia there are 25 churches and chapels, 17 of which are attributed to the B’ Venetian rule (1685-1715). During this period all historical documents refer to an extensive program of public works.   The St. Andrew chapel is attributed to this period due to its form of construction.

In this chapel, which is neighboring  to the parish church of Elkomenos Chrystos, two construction phases are distinct: the first phase goes back to the Byzantine period with the north wall  bearing arch with frescoes and the later is the Venetian phase, during which  the chapel took its present form. It is built on the simplest type of one spaced vaulted basilica, with interior dimensions of 8,66m x 5,20m .

The restoration was granted by the Leventis Foundation and  took place between 1998-2002. It was based on the architectural study and supervision of Dr. Ioanna Sotiriou Dorovinis, under the high supervision of the 5th Division of Byzantine and Ancient Antiquities   (Sparta Office).

Cultural uses were assigned for the chapel of St. Andrew by the Central Council of the Ministry of Culture. Today it is offered for corporate meetings and conferences as well as for multipurpose cultural events and uses.


Η πρόσοψη του παρεκκλησίου με τον υπαίθριο φούρνο
4611989157 pre   4611989158 pre
 before  after


Η κόγχη του ιερού στο εσωτερικό του παρεκκλησίου

 4612028871 pre  4612028870 pre
 before  after

Discover Monemvassia & Peloponese

Where to swim Eating - Shops Walking tours & Sightseeing

Contact us

Main contact person for bookings: FOTINI TSAGARI

  • Mob: 0030 6976800433
  • Tel: 0030 27320 61303

Company contact info

  • Tel 1: 0030 2106000259 | Fax: 0030 2106000459
  • Mob 1: 00306973314353 | Mob 2: 00306976768089


Visit also:

logo cretan houses gold